Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Kindergarten Screening Informational Webinars
Vance Eden
Monday, April 27, 2020


Kindergarten Screening Informational Webinar

Please help us by sharing this information with any parents you know who may have a kindergarten student for the 2020-21 school year.  Thank you!

When:  Wednesday, May 6th at 1:00 pm and 6:00 pm

(These will be identical meetings.  Please choose the option that is most convenient for you.)

Where: via Zoom

     1:00 pm- https://us04web.zoom.us/s/71241161782?status=success    

     6:00 pm- https://us04web.zoom.us/s/73083183252?status=success

      Password for both sessions: Eagles

Points of Contact

Vance- Principal, veden@uniontown235.org

Rose Gauthier- Classroom Teacher, rgauthier@uniontown235.org

Haley Troutman- Classroom Teacher, htroutman@uniontown235.org

Lori Ferguson- Special Education Teacher, lferguson@uniontown235.org

Sheena Parks- School Psychologist, sparks@girard248.org

Alexa Dreiling- Speech Therapist, adreiling@sekconnection.org

Betty Dennis- Nurse, bdennis@uniontown235.org

Rebecca Sutterby- Secretary, rsutterby@uniontown235.org

Rolene Lowry- Secretary, rlowry@uniontown235.org

WBE Phone: 620-756-4335

WBE Fax: 620-756-4373

Agenda:

  • Welcome and Introductions

  • Who Can Attend Kindergarten?

    • State Age Restriction- 5 years old on or before August 31, 2020

    • Residency Restrictions

      • Living Inside USD #235 School District

      • Complete an Out-of-District Application and have approved by V. Eden (please contact if needed)

    • Completed Files

      • Enrollment Documents

        • Contact and Demographic Information

        • Social Security Card

        • Birth Certificate

        • Utility Bill Indicating Proof of Residency

      • Medical Documents

        • Shot Records

        • Physical

  • General Information

    • What does a typical day look like? 

      • Specials- Art, Music, and PE 

      • Lunch

        • Free/ Reduced Lunch Application is part of enrollment documents

      • Recess

    • Transportation

      • Bus- To homes of in-district students or drop locations for those out-of-district

      • Parent/ Guardian

        • Drop-off: Under Awning at Main Entrance

        • Pick-up:  In East Parking Lot 

    • Special Education

      • If concerns exist, please contact Vance Eden or Sheena Parks

        • IDEA provides a variety of services for identified disabilities.

  • Enrollment Process

    • ASQ-3 and ASQ:SE2-  Please complete as soon as possible

    • Online Enrollment- This will be new for the entire district.  More information will be available as this process is finalized.

    • Screening/ Shots/ Introduction Event

      • We hope to have a mid-July time to bring students and parents in to meet staff, participate in some brief screenings, and get any needed vaccinations (if desired).

  • Questions?

We hate that we weren’t able to have a typical kindergarten screening.  Thank you for your patience as we have adjusted to the needs of our current situation.  We are excited to bring your students into our WBE family.  We recognize that some students and parents will have anxious feelings in this transition.  Please never hesitate in reaching out to any of the wonderful staff here.  We will do everything possible to ensure it goes as smoothly as possible.